• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Roller upper and lower tubular control arms

Shaun

I've been working on and off for many years on some roller bearing upper and lower tubular control arms.

IMG_6615.jpg

The lca pivot features a 3/4" monoball and the upper is held to the 4140 shaft with giant heims. Yes, I know they are in single shear but the through bolt size is so large it is not a concern. Both control arms feature screw in ball joints that are super easy to replace/service. Tubing is .120 tig welded.

I shortened the UCA and changed the BJ angle so I can increase the negative camber gain. An added benefit of the shorter UCA is I can run a 245 tire on the front with a rolled fender lip.

I've had them out on the track for a few hours already with no issues so far. I'm still messing with lengths getting the negative camber gain and desired alignment specs sorted out.

What do you think? These prototypes are rattle can painted grey just for rust protoection through testing. They will be blasted and magnafluxed for cracks after testing. I was going to powder the production pieces black like our strut rods but I kind of like the grey. Vote?

Last edited by a moderator:
I dig them, but how are they going to compare price was to the TCP, Global West, Ron Morris, etc all? There are a billion suppliers of them, the only way to gain any market share has to be the price point. Its not like they are billet pieces where you have to own a CNC, but you do have your overhead and associated costs. IMHO, they seem to be cheaper than snot for the Chebby guys, but for some reason the Mustang pieces are made of platinum.

"monkeystash" said:
Nice work Shaun. If they were blue, they would pass as TCP. However, I vote for black.