• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

smoker recipies

guruatbol

Always on vacation!
Ok, now that I have a smoker and I had a great experience with turkey. SWMBO says that she was totally convinced that she hated turkey, then she ate the smoked turkey we did for thanksgiving and has now changed her mind.

I would like to try some cheese and other meats. The meats are no problem since I have a good basic understanding of how to do it. the cheese on the other hand is tough to find out how to do it. I searched the web via google and came up with a bunch of crap and one good idea, but I know some of you guys have some experience with this sort of thing and well, I might as well ask.

I have a Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker. How would I go about smoking cheese? What wood is best? Temps? How long? What cheeses would be best?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Mel

Mel, Mel, Mel,
If you really want to learn how to smoke meats, cheeses, vegies, etc, you will join:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/f/

You will find a few of my threads mainly in the fish and cheese forums.

Here's some pics of me cold smoking various cheeses and butter (that's right baby! buttah!)

uhy7emyj.jpg

bu6u7ydy.jpg

uzymu6ug.jpg

de5y7u5y.jpg

Cold smoking cheese and butter means you do not use your smoker's source of heat, in your case the heating element. Chamber temp cannot go above 78-80 degrees especially if you are smoking butter. Cheeses can go a little higher. Yes, winter is the best time to cold smoke. Summer limits your cold smoking to only the wee hours, if you are lucky. Pepper Jack, Mozzarella are my two favorite with Mozzarella being #1 in my books. I normally use apple but have been known to add some alder in the mix.