• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Newbie from Cedar Hill, TX checking in

miketyler

I'm Mike and am a newbie here to StangFix. I just bought a 1970 Medium blue metallic Mach 1 last month. Have always appreciated the lines on the 70. As a teenager, always wanted oneof these and now I have one! It has had some work done but is somewhat of a basket case.

I just finished restoring a 1972 PLum Crazy purple Cuda and really enjoyed doing it. Am looking forward to going thru this car. Unlike the restomod I did on the Cuda, I always thought these cars looked great just the way they were fully optioned out with stripes, front and rear spoilers, rocker moldings all sitting on Magnums. Of course, this can always change but for now, thats my target.

Welcome aboard Mike, we LOVE helping others spend buttloads of cash :vic

Darn that 'Cuda is sweet!

My brother has a '73 parked in a storage locker. It originally belonged to my mother and was his HS+ car. It needs a complete makeover, but is a solid car. He's been bugging me for "us" to get it done, but "my energy level" and his aren't on the same level. His would consist of helping get the car into my shop and then coming by to drink my beer once a month while he checked on the car's progress. I've got enough crap going on and don't need that headache.

The '70 looks like a fairly straightforward build. It appears to be a complete car that's still assembled. It'll be easier to build when you've disassembled it yourself.

Since you're coming over from the land of Mopar's, know this.... a few years back Hot Rod (or Car Craft, can't remember) did a survey to determine the one car that epitomized the muscle car era. The '70 MACH1 was the clear winner. This speaks volumes as it came from a mostly GM orientated magazine.